Who is Required to Wear Seat Belts in the State of California?

Answered by

Christine Anderson
Christine AndersonLicensed Car Insurance Consultant

Posted on Feb 06, 2023

In the state of California, all drivers and passengers are required to wear seat belts while in a moving vehicle. This includes both the front and back seats. Fines for not wearing a seat belt can range from $20 to $250, depending on the severity of the offense. Children under the age of 16 are also required to wear a seat belt, or else they may face fines of up to $500.

People are also asking

  • What Does the Law Say About Wearing a Seat Belt in California?

    The law in California says that all drivers and passengers must wear a seat belt while the car is in motion. This is a primary law, which means that you can be pulled over and ticketed for not wearing a seat belt, even if you are not breaking any other traffic laws.There are a few exceptions to this

    Read more
  • When Was the California Seat Belt Law Passed?

    The California seat belt law was passed in 1986. It requires all drivers and passengers in a vehicle to wear a seat belt. The law was passed in response to a number of fatal car accidents that occurred in California.

    Read more
  • Does California Assign points for Seatbelt Violations?

    Yes, California assigns points for seatbelt violations. A first offense carries two points, a second offense carries four points, and a third or subsequent offense carries six points. Points on your driving record can lead to increased insurance premiums and may even cause your license to be suspend

    Read more